The DWP lied to me.

Amy Petrelli
2 min readSep 7, 2021

--

Shouldn’t be surprised really

The previous letter, telling that I had in fact until next year left on my claim. So why are they sending me the form in September 2021?

They have sent me me a form to renew my Personal Independence Payment (PIP) claim. But, they said that they would wait until next year (2022) due to the COVID pandemic.

And I have to complete it by 28 September!!!

Of course they want to know my GP’s details. My ableist, transphobic, fatphobic GP.

They want to know all of my health conditions. I am autistic; I have fibromyalgia, psoriasis, and a bunch of other shit that hasn’t been diagnosed yet because my GPs are all cunts.

And they want to know what meds I’m on. Aside from the antidepressants and hormones, there’s nothing to mention, because the doctors don’t believe me, or blame it on my hormones.

They want to know how I prepare food and cook. This is a difficult task because my hands are shot and so are my legs.

They want to know how I eat and drink. With great difficulty, old bean… I have trouble holding cutlery.

They want to know how I manage my health conditions. I don’t. How can I? My docs don’t give a fuck, and always blame my weight.

Washing/bathing: Well, I need some level of assistance with this, as I only have a bath. So I need help to get in and out, and help to wash certain parts of my body.

Toilet needs: Sometimes, I won’t get to the toilet quick enough, which results in messy situations. And with a possible ulcerative bowel condition, accidents can and will happen.

Dressing/undressing: My partner has to help with a lot of this. Especially on the lower areas

Communication: Yeah, I suck at that. I can’t drown out external noise. I can’t understand different accents that well. I can’t always talk myself.

Reading: Well, I’m dyslexic, so that doesn’t go well

Mixing with others: Given we’re in a pandemic, I’m not sure about this one. I hated mixing with people before. Social distancing was an added bonus.

Managing money: Got better since I’ve had a partner. And lockdown.

Route planning: The one thing I excel at, providing short-notice changes don’t happen. Because I’m a transport enthusiast. If it goes tits up though, expect me to have a meltdown.

How far can I walk? Not far these days. Fatigue is really bad, and recent problems with my knee don’t help. And I always need my walking stick.

I hate filling in forms. As I said further up, I’m dyslexic. Hopefully, I can get to the bottom of this crap soon.

Anyway, all my love to y’all

--

--

Amy Petrelli

Trans woman with a passion for transport and wildlife.